Orinoco, a metal band from Joliet, IL, recently released an EP that has been nourishing my brain.  Every once in a while, especially when it gets dark and cold, I need something to wake me up; something to shake me up and get my blood pumping.  From the moment I pressed play on Orinoco’s new EP –Nihilism (December 2017) - that is exactly what happened. 


At times I find myself gravitating toward music that is heavy and hostile, but with a purpose, a reason for being angry.  Wrongful authority, mistreatment and oppression, those kinds of things get my blood boiling.  Orinoco’s self-defined “brutal sound that blends breakdowns with death metal riffs and fast thrash” taps into that for me.


The first song on the EP, Kill the Creator, starts off full force and lets you know exactly what’s to come.  The tight, aggressive picking pattern in the intro, met precisely by the killer drum attack found throughout all three songs on Nihilism, sets the tone for the lyrics that follow: 


“People put here we are forced to trust…no longer will we be silenced…Now is our time to take back what is ours…and become the new power”


I love the guitar tone on the EP and there are many interesting riffs and melodies throughout.  The verse riff in Kill the Creatoris powerful with a dissonant, suspended sounding chord,whichreally helps build the tension, before the vocals kick in and provide a release.  There is also a tasteful solo that sounds great and fits the song well. 


The vocals themselves are diverse and full of energy and attitude.  No one part stands out or sounds better than another, but if I had to choose between a very heavy deep growl, a kind of talking - effectively calling attention to and asking for action in the face of threat and injustice –and a kind of aggressive, almost character driven, angst ridden snarl, I’d go with the latter.  It just perfectly fits the music and is delivered with such gusto.


The second song, Griffin, starts with a frenetic riff and then adds in some harmonized guitar work.  Done very effectively, this is accompanied by some terrific drumming.  The drumming throughout this album is really top notch, with lots of fills and detailed footwork.


The songkicks off with a cool heavy riff and then a great melody line that leads into the verse.  The vocals again are perfect, maniacally aggressive, and the rapid picking variations and steady riffhelp create a buzzing energy with great tone and clarity.  There is also a cool heavy section right before another solid solo.


The last song, Raised by the Stars, starts with a cool snare and guitar accompaniment, hits on a wicked little guitar run, and then breaks into straight chunk. 


“LIVE, living on the edge!!!”


There is a really cool hammer-on type lick in the verse, and then a story of alien invasion. 


“Shelter, they will consume us all…they have come to kill us all”


While it may seem like impending doom, the message I took away from this was, “We will show them who–we–are!”  In other words, we’re taking no shit!  It doesn’t matter who you are or where you come from, “We will not give up without a fight!”


This song has my favorite solo on the EP, and it also has its own nicely crafted lyric video on YouTube.


Overall, Nihilism is a three-song powder keg.  As the song goes, Orinoco has definitely shown us who they are.  Now it’s up to you to get their EP on the band's bandcamp and check them out at one of their upcoming shows!.


- Pauly B.


Orinoco Is:

Anthony Guardiola - Vocals
Chris Galindo - Guitar
Cody Kehn - Drums
Melissa Nestor - Bass



No automatic alt text available.

Visit The Band Here


Listen to the Band's past interview with us here


Also Find The Band At These Links:

Bandcamp               Youtube



Watch Raised By The Stars  lyric Video here


Pile of Priests is a progressive Death Metal band from Denver, Colorado. The unsigned trio formed in 2009 and is managed by Eric Dow. Making up this dark and obscure group, we have Patrick Leyn [Bass], Evan Salvador [Guitar and Vocals] and Evan Knight [Drums].


Inspired by Death, Edge of Sanity, Old Man's Child and Cannibal Corpse, these wickedly skillful gentlemen aim to produce a sound inspired by 90's death and thrash metal. Their latest release this year is an EP titled, 'Tenebrous Labyrinth'. Three original songs and three covers make up this six track album.


Main songwriter Evan Salvador stated in a previous interview, “Most of our songs are about the fallacies of religion, but also human struggles and current events in the world.”


Track one, 'Tenebrous Labyrinth', has a fast-paced, brisk, techy feel to it. As I listened to each song in order, I thought the songs got better and better. The guitar riffs on cut two, 'Kafir', are purely awesome. 'Interglacial Departure' is a headbanging worthy tune you can find on track three. The heavy drumming definitely stole the spotlight for me for this jam.


The last three tunes being the covers, did not disappoint. 'Divine Step' by Coroner, was greatly executed. I thought Evan Knight did an excellent job on the drums. I very much enjoyed Evan Salvador's skillful vocals on 'Through The Eyes Of Greed' by Sadus. Patrick Leyn's bass skills were extraordinary on 'Hate Inside Your Head' by Kreator. The guitar riffs are excellent on this song, as well as the drumming.


Drummer Evan Knight, quoted in a previous interview, “We are very proud of our new single 'Redemtionem Per Cruciatu' and upcoming EP that we plan to follow. Our sound has evolved on every release and we have agreed that this EP to come is the pinnacle of out sound thus far. It's fast, evil, melodic and incorporates other styles of metal besides death metal.”


Translated from latin, “Redemptionem Per Cruciatu” means “Redemption Through Torture.” The band explains further in a previous interview, “The song is about the centuries of child molestation within the catholic church, and in particular one Wisconsin priest who sexually molested over 200 deaf children between 1950 and 1974. He was never punished by the Vatican hierarchy or by the criminal justice system of the United States. The song musically starts out with an eerie bass into to portray the sadness and trauma of all the affected victims. It then progresses into a fast-paced melodic ride of pure anger that is sure to rile up the listener.”


'Redemtionem Per Cruciatu' premiered exclusively on NoCleanSinging.com. The vocals on this single satisfyingly sound like Ross Dolan from Immolation. I really took an interest in the meaning behind this piece of art. I very much appreciate when artists can be vulnerable and really take something that they are passionate about and make it into something extraordinary.


- Jenny Holland



Pile Of Priests Is:

Patrick Leyn - Bass

Evan Salvador - Guitar and Vocals

Evan Knight - Drums


Image may contain: 3 people, people standing, tree, outdoor and nature

Visit The Band Here


Also Find The Band At These Links:

Metal Archives          Discogs

Youtube                   BandCamp     

Asher Media Relations